my inner child

2138831766_43bff9617b_m

The people brought children to Jesus, hoping he might touch them. The disciples shooed them off. But Jesus was irate and let them know it: “Don’t push these children away. Don’t ever get between them and me. These children are at the very center of life in the kingdom. Mark this: Unless you accept God’s kingdom in the simplicity of a child, you’ll never get in.” Then, gathering the children up in his arms, he laid his hands of blessing on them.   -Mark 10:13-16, The Message Bible

I have a confession to make: I’m not nearly as in touch with my inner child as I need to be.  I know, that sounds cheesy.  But I don’t care.  I’m willing to be cheesy if that’s what it takes for me to grow as a Jesus-follower.  I’m learning more and more that God is most pleased when like a child, I simply trust in his love.

Anyone else feel the same?

  1. November 17, 2008 at 11:53 am

    I follow you. As an adult, I spend too much time “out-thinking” the wisdom of God (or at least thinking I out-think Him. It never happens!). Complete trust brings the greatest joy, the simplest life, the most growth. I learned that lesson hard as a monk, and I’m learning it still as a married man. I guess the child never really stops growing.

  2. kenstoll
    November 17, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    …thanks for stopping by Jim—I got a brief look at your blog and intend to do read some more. How easliy I forget that “…the message of the cross is foolishness”.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

