40 things on my 40th

2430307590_b89c1d3715_bI’ll be 40 next week…

Here is a short list of a couple of things I have learned so far. 

1. I don’t know near as much as I did at twenty.

2. Health is to be appreciated — anyone can get sick — Lance Armstrong was a world class athlete and in tip top shape when he was struck with cancer.

3. If you are fortunate your parents will cry with you when no one else will. 

4. Having what you or others think is an important job is way overrated.

5. Your biggest fans that you figured would love you your entire life can just as easily abandon you and throw you out with the empty orange juice carton.

6. Money is temporary and it can’t love you back.

7. This earth isn’t my final destination, I am only visiting.

8. Good luck to those who wish to change me, I can’t even do it.

9. It’s nice to be less than 40 and not have to get the annual colon screening you’re supposed to get when you turn the magic number.

10. Jesus is there when family isn’t.

11. Beauty should not be confused with good looks.

12. Truth is often beneath the surface of the lie.

13. God’s grace isn’t for those of us who have our lives under control. 

14. Until you find your passion, you will be frustrated.

15. Once you find your passion, throw yourself into it.

16. Cooking is not as hard as I thought it was.  

17. Never underestimate the gospel’s power to change a life — including your own.

18. No one can make you their enemy — only you decide that.

19. Jesus hung out with all of the people I was told were bad and he scorned those who were like the ones who told me that.

20. Recovery doesn’t have to be what others tell you it is.

21. Hope can keep you going when you feel like jumping off a bridge with a hundred pound weight strapped to your back.

22. You can leap over the hood of a car that is about to hit you and live to tell about it — just be prepared to have your glasses broken if you wear them.

23. Visiting a homeless shelter during a Michigan winter can help you gain perspective.

24. The experts are often on someones payroll or in someones back pocket.

25. You’re never as humble as you say you are. 

26. There are people in jail who are more sincere than a lot of folks in church.

27. Honest communication gives a relationship a chance to be special.

28. Some girls you never thought much of as a kid turn out to be dynamite.

29. Religion can be more poisonous than a rattlesnake.

30. Faith believes what others refuse to see.

31. Revenge will kill you instead of the one you hate.

32. A spouse can turn out to be someone you never knew.

33. Your kids are worth your life.

34. Fresh air can awaken the mind, one too many beers can loosen the tongue.

35. A friend will tell you what no one else has the guts or heart to.

36. The shower is where you get your best thoughts because God has a sense of humor and you don’t have a pen handy.

37. Life isn’t worth living without love.

38. With God impossible is nothing.

39. Solitude can make a difference.

40. I have yet to see a moving van behind a hearse.

  1. Lori Johns
    December 24, 2008 at 11:18 am

    Your list is wonderful. I will be 40 in February. I am glad I know more now then I did when I was twenty and I understand I really don’t know much now. I can relate to many of the things on your list. Happy early Birthday

  2. Perspectlivey Simplex
    December 24, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    Love the list; What a wonderful idea! Hope you get everything you wish for!

  3. One Winged Angel
    December 24, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    I can’t wait to read 41 things. 😉 Here might be a good start…#41. Some of the best things I’ve read in my lifetime have come from the mind of Ken Stoll. The End. Love you~OWA

  4. December 24, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    That is a good list. I will be turning 60 in April so I have to come up with 20 more items. But I guess as you get older, you find more reasons to be thankful. As you look back, things weren’t always as bad as they seemed at the time. And most of all, I can see so clearly now how Jesus was the one who lifted me when I was too weary by life.

    God bless and keep finding reasons to be thankful!

    http://www.mlordi.wordpress.com

    http://www.time2standladies.wordpress.com

  5. steve
    December 24, 2008 at 4:16 pm

    at age 82, I find this list sums it up rather nicely..,life is a long journey and like Amtrack, the ride can be bumpy…it can have delays…false starts…some sad endings…new beginnings…and incredible moments of pure joy…life is a process of learning, loving, healing, and redemption..life is good….

  6. One winged angel
    December 25, 2008 at 12:53 pm

    What wonderful comments on your topic, Ken. A perspective from people at different ages…from the looks of it, I have a beautiful life ahead of me and a beautiful one behind me. There are no greater moments than the ones shared with people we love. Thank you for enriching the lives of many people….keep blessing us all. 😉 Merry Christmaas to you and everyone that enjoys your writings! OWA~

  7. Audrey
    December 26, 2008 at 12:06 am

    That was great Kenny! Happy Birthday my friend, Happy Birthday.

  8. kenstoll
    December 26, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    thanks for all of the nice comments and birthday wishes.

    Ken

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

