Home > Bible, Christianity, faith, God, holidays, religion > New Years Unresolutions

New Years Unresolutions

When you tell God you’ll do something, do it — now. God takes no pleasure in foolish gabble. Vow it, then do it. Far better not to vow in the first place than to vow and not pay up.  -Ecclesiastes c5 v4-5

While a number of Americans will be making vain and lofty resolutions tomorrow night I have decided it far better to draft my own list of unresolutions.  As I land on the canvas of this dawning new year I will take a few moments to reflect on what God has done in my heart and life the past 365 days.  

Where to begin?  This year in passing I have failed miserably again in my own efforts to craft a better me and sanctify myself.  My resolutions to quit, change and start again have backfired. My promises to do better, do more, and in some cases do less—have all crashed and burned. I have seen more than my share what man can do, it is what God can do that I need to see more of. I’ve had my fill of building my own little kingdom. 

All too often I neglect the plight of the poor, ignore the cry of the needy, marginalize the pain of the oppressed, overlook the forgotten, patronize the tossed aside, judge the spit upon, write off the hopeless, abandon the old left to die, and forget the young denied the privilege to live.

My silly resolutions can starve for all I care.  The passing of 2009 signals one less year I have left to touch others with the love of Christ.

May my prayer for this new year consist of more than just bread on my table, but bread for others, and most significantly, the Bread of Life for their souls.  May I pray bold prayers for the unlikely, the far-fetched, the doubtful, the improbable and even the impossible this coming year.  

The new year occasion is a time to pray if there ever was a time. 

God of the new year — Interrupt my plans this coming year that don’t include you, replace my fleeting strength with your unlimited supply, shatter my cold indifference with your undying love, and overshadow my pathetic self-pity with your undeserved acceptance of me. Your Kingdom come in my heart and life, again.  Amen.

  1. December 30, 2008 at 7:36 pm

    Hey I posted this on my blog! Hope that is ok. Loved it! Happy New Year!!!

  2. kenstoll
    December 30, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    …if it was anyone else it might not be okay. Kidding, I borrow more than I share so I am glad you could pass it along.

    Good to hear from you Amy.

    Our Lord’s richest blessings on you in the new year.

    Ken

  3. One Winged Angel
    December 31, 2008 at 2:46 pm

    Funny how a moment can change where your life is headed. Last night as I watched that dear limp across the back yard, all I could think was “don’t die….don’t let that dear die tonight, not in the dark and not in the cold.” In our darkest hour is where we find the greatest light of our lives – God. As selfish as we are with ourselves, may we be more selfish with God and for God in the coming year. Happy New Year! OWA

  4. Audrey
    December 31, 2008 at 3:57 pm

    Kenny thanks for the perspective.

  1. December 30, 2008 at 7:38 pm

Leave a Reply

