Home > Bible, Christ, Christianity, church, faith, family, God, Jesus, relationships, religion > iced coffee with my daughter Lauren

iced coffee with my daughter Lauren

…to follow up my last post.  I ran across this video tonight while rummaging around Ray Ortlund’s blog that has offered me a cup of water for my thirsty soul on more than one occasion.  You might need a box of tissues handy as I did. 

I had the honor and joy of sharing time at a corner coffee spot with my nearly perfect daughter Lauren today.  She sipped on some fancy iced vanilla coffee drink while I enjoyed a regular slightly sweetened iced coffee—go figure, it was freezing cold outside the window we sat in.  Tasty stuff.  For those of you who know a little bit of my story you know all 3 of my children are worth more than every ounce of gold on earth to me (each one unique in their own right). 

We reminisced a bit as we spoke of days gone by, some better days and some not so better days.  But today was as good a day as I have ever lived.  I wanted to hold her and never let go.  Being with her is about as close to heaven as it gets for me.  The verse referenced in the video and quoted below was one topic of our discussion.  What could be sweeter than encouraging and being enouraged in your faith and love for our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ with your own child? 

1 There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.  -Romans 8:1, ESV

 

  1. Lori Johns
    January 5, 2009 at 11:23 am

    Beautiful

  2. Roger Eben
    January 5, 2009 at 10:10 pm

    Boy do I know this one ! You see one yr ago jan 1st I was consoling, my Amber ( 24 ) yrs of cutting, pain ,loss, rejection ,bitterness had culminated to dispair. 4 mo later Broken, and ready to surender. Her walk with Christ started. jan 1 this year She called and asked about scriptures that would help a friend . Amen This is the highest blessing of a father

  3. kenstoll
    January 5, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    …you have been a role model for me Roger of what a dad looks like and how he loves his children.

    Thank you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

