Our New President

presidential-sealNote: Let us all pray for President Obama no matter our political affiliation.  God give our new president wisdom and eyes to see. May he seek good and hate what is evil.

While I disagree vehemently with our new president on several fronts, and I may not have voted for him (I do not have a political affiliation any longer)—one thing is for certain, I am praying for our new president.  What President Obama presents here is a breath of fresh air, a contrast to much of what we have become accustomed to from our government (and that’s not pointing fingers at our last president, I’m speaking of government as a collective whole).

It’s time our government considers the common man in its legislative practices and severs its allegiances with the strong and powerful, or, as President Obama puts it here, the wealthy and the well-connected (i.e credit card company execs making a mint off of the working poor in charging exorbitant fees).  We need a government that supports sending white collar criminals to prison with the guys who can’t afford $10,000 an hour attorneys.  Abortion is an abomination and it is murder to be clear.  7.5 million American children have been ‘discarded’ since the start of the Iraq War, and tragically, these ‘medical proceedures’ have become just as accepted as a face-lift.  But may I remind my evangelical friends—God doesn’t look too kindly upon those who exploit the poor either (check your Bible if you doubt it).

We need a president and an administration more mindful of a single dad in Michigan who is trying to pay child support for his 3 children 550 miles away—than worried about some big-shot bank executive in Manhattan with a golden parachute the size of Alaska.

And for the record, while I am on the topic, Jesus wasn’t a republican.

  1. January 23, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    I absolutely appreciate your post, especially the comment:

    Quote: “one thing is for certain, I am praying for our new president.”

    I wrote a blog titled “God Grace America,” which simply is a heart-cry for people to pray for their leadership, that they may live in peace. The disputes should be over with. We need to respect and support our new President as much as possible.

    As a Christian artist, I designed a t-shirt that I think you will like. I understand if you need to edit this post. I’m not sure if I am allowed to post a link or not.

    But check it out. I think it lines up with your blog:

    http://imperishabledesign.com/PrayforourPresident/tabid/105/Default.aspx

    Blessings!

    Patrick

  2. kenstoll
    January 23, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    …thank you Patrick for the words of encouragement. The tee shirt design is great. The message is even better. God give our new president wisdom and eyes to see. May he seek good and hate what is evil.

  3. MB
    January 23, 2009 at 10:41 pm

    I don’t think Jesus was republican or democrat. Jesus did care about the poor and the rich, alike. HE was not concerned with outward appearances..he was concerned with their hearts. The thing I can’t come to a decision on is the war in Iraq. I am totally against abortion. That is a clear cut NO for me. I hate that babies are dying everyday in this country because someone decided to have sex and didn’t think about the consequences, so they kill their baby to end their mistake. I hate it. But war, on the other hand, is not so clear cut. God wiped out many nations in the OT because of sin. Children did die because their parents were evil..so entire nations died, young and old, rich and poor alike. That isn’t to say that Iraq is totally evil. I just don’t know how I stand on war. Part of me is angry that we still have troops dying over there. I think they should fight their own wars and spare our troops. Then the other part of me thinks that all these children that are dying are sad. Why do young children have to die? But then another part of me feels like I don’t want terrorists here and the more we fight them off, the better. There is no clear cut answer. I don’t think Bush was wrong in his motives, nor do I think that Obama is either. I can say I don’t like most things about Obama and I certainly did not vote for him – but I can’t say that about his war decisions. Just my two cents.

  4. MB
    January 23, 2009 at 10:47 pm

    I also wanted to add, I don’t agree with taking away people’s hard earned money and giving it to the poor. Cutting taxes instead of “spreading the wealth around” is what is going to help our economy.

  5. kenstoll
    January 24, 2009 at 12:55 am

    …good to see you again Michelle. Stopped by your page and seen you have been getting the snow over there too. Thanks for your thoughts.

    I am no supporter of abortion either and I don’t think the government doing $100 handouts to anyone do any good. I am no commie. I think us as the church need to do more in reaching the orphans, widows, and those in prison.

    Prefering the elite and ignoring the plight of the poor isn’t what our government should do either. They need to support more ministries and businesses that offer a hand up to those who are seriously struggling for good reason. We are a greedy people though, and we find plenty of reasons to not help the poor (ie. they did something wrong). Well, Jesus said to feed the poor and he set no rules about which to feed and which not to feed (there are homeless people on our streets here in America, i have spoken with them). I agree, God does love the poor and rich alike, he didn’t check our wallets before he sent his Son to the Cross on our behalf.

  6. MB
    January 25, 2009 at 3:01 am

    I agree. I waiver so much on this issue. I go to church and our church is really in the community, helping the poor, helping the orphans…but then I see people walking around with their high end clothes and their dyed hair and 10 pounds of makeup on and I don’t get it. Some of my friends are really into their “stuff”. God recently has been speaking to me…in subtle ways about this issue. We all do need to care for the needy. We shouldn’t just leave it up to gov’t. That is what our churches are for, really. They should be anyway. If we had churches that were doing their jobs, we wouldn’t need gov’t to do it. But instead, I see people buying new cars and talking about their big houses, while people they sit next to at church are suffering. It has made me so aware of how much other Christians just don’t care. I have to include myself in that comment because I too am guilty of it. I totally see your point on this issue..we don’t need to make the rich richer. I get that. We should all be helping out our neighbors, communities, and missionaries and leading others to the cross by our genuine caring and concern. I guess I struggle with how gov’t can play that role.

    By the way, yes it is freezing here!!! I truly don’t know why I choose to live here! Ha! But I just keep thinking in a few months this will all be gone and we’ll have our hot, hot summers like we usually do! God bless.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

