Who I Am

Hi, my name is Ken, and I’m a recovering self-help junkie.

The last several days it has come to my attention that I’ve hit a wall on several fronts in my life.  My plans to get a book deal have stalled (and not so I could become some big shot author by any means).  In addition, I could list 7 other things that have come to a halt—that is if they ever had gotten started to begin with.  I am collecting a paycheck right for which I can be very thankful (especially after being unemployed for over a year and considering how many others remain jobless). But for me a job is merely a means to an end.  My life consists of much more than what I do between the hours of 9-5.  

You see, my life has turned out to date much different from how I planned it say 20 years ago.  Oh, I know, the next chapter remains unwritten and that’s cool, because this chapter has been long and painful.  But it isn’t all bad… that is the inconviences, dissapointments, heartache and frustrations.  This unwelcome chapter after all has served to define me in a sense, and it’s also helped me find out some things I just had to know.  

 “Let the redeemed of the LORD say so,
    whom he has redeemed from trouble…” ~Psalm 107:2

It’s our trouble that he uses to redeem us after all.  

I’ve learned who I am, and maybe even just as importantly, who I am not.  Whether I am anyone else’s or not, I am God’s beloved child.  I am a sinner covered by sheer mercy and saved by amazing grace.  My name is written in the Book of Life with ink that cannot be erased.  So, no matter what awaits me, and irregardless of whether the rain is pouring or the sun is shining tomorrow—I am spoken for, I am forgiven, and I am in the company of the Lord’s redeemed.

  1. Lori Johns
    December 13, 2009 at 9:49 am

    This is beautiful! I can totally relate.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

